+86 21 658 939 33 support@translegal.com.cn

University of Birmingham

University, Birmingham B15, UK
The University of Birmingham (also known as "Birmingham University") is a British civic university located in the city of Birmingham, England. Founded in Edgbaston in 1900, it was the first British university to gain official royal charter in the 20th century. The university is a member of the Russell Group of research universities and a founding member of Universitas 21. The student population includes approximately 16,500 undergraduate and 8,000 postgraduate students, making it the largest university in the West Midlands region. The University is home to the Barber Institute of Fine Arts, housing works by Van Gogh, Picasso and Monet, the Lapworth Museum of Geology, and the Joseph Chamberlain Memorial Clock Tower, which is a prominent landmark visible from many parts of the city, and the tallest free-standing clock tower in the world. Each year, over 4,000 students from 150 countries study at the University of Birmingham, enhancing its reputation as a truly international university, and adding to its diverse range of cultures.

The Law School

The law school is situated at the University’s Edgbaston campus, which consists of 250 acres and has all the facilities of a busy town. Lawns and tree-lined walkways contribute to the peaceful atmosphere and make the campus a wonderful spot for picnics and walking.

The campus is a safe, friendly environment with all the amenities of a small town – with the added benefit of a full-time security team. Students will find bars, shops, a hair salon, concert hall, art gallery and two major banks on campus.

Birmingham is also the only university in the UK to have its own railway station, just two stops from Birmingham New Street.

The Program

The LLM programmes last 12 months, running from September to September.

There are five different progammes:

-- LLM in Commercial Law
-- LLM in International Commercial Law
-- LLM in Criminal Law and Criminal Justice
-- LLM in European Law
-- General LLM

All five programmes have a similar basic structure.

Part I of the programmes consists of four taught modules: the range of choice depends on the programme. Assessment in those modules, by essays or formal examinations, takes place in May and June.

In part II of the programmes, students research and write a 15,000-word dissertation on a selected topic of law under the supervision of a member of staff.

The programmes enable students to develop expertise in a range of subjects. Students acquire a systematic understanding of these subjects along with a critical appreciation of the problems that arise in these fields. Students are encouraged to demonstrate originality in the application of knowledge together with a practical understanding of how established research techniques are used to create and interpret knowledge.

Part-time study

All the LLM programmes may be taken part-time and completed over a period of two years. This mode of study is particularly suitable for barristers and solicitors who wish to combine professional practice with university-level study, gaining CPD points in the process.

Entry Requirements

* A first or upper second class Honours degree in law (or a joint Honours degree with a major law component).
* Students with lower second class Honours degrees in law will be considered if supported by strong references.
* An overseas qualification of equivalent standard, whether from a common law, civilian or other jurisdiction.
* A UK Honours degree in a non-law subject with a good pass in a Common Professional Examination course.
* An upper second class Honours degree in a non-law subject, alongside substantial legal experience.

If an applicant's first language is not English the applicant must provide an English language qualification.