+86 21 658 939 33 support@translegal.com.cn

University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria (known as "UP") is considered to be the leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest universities overall in the country. The university consists of six campuses, along with numerous other buildings and sites of operation such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. Central administration is located at the Hatfield campus. The University of Pretoria offers its more than 1800 academic programs in two official languages, Afrikaans and English. (Some programs and modules are offered only in English.) The academic programs of the University are offered in nine faculties and a business school. The faculties comprise a total of 140 departments and 85 centres, institutes and bureaus. UP is at the forefront of education in South Africa and collaborates with world-class partners to ensure continued excellence in learning and teaching.

The Law School

The Faculty of Law at the University of Pretoria offers advanced legal training on undergraduate and postgraduate levels and is known to engage in advanced legal research. Its staff participated in drafting the South African Constitution and other legislation and former students and staff serve as judges on the Constitutional Court and other national courts.

The Faculty of Law is one of the only law faculties in the world with its own Printing House – Pretoria University Law Press (PULP) – which publishes advanced legal texts from around the world in English, Afrikaans, French, Arabic and Portuguese.

The Faculty houses the Department of Education-accredited legal journal De Jure, the International Biography of Social Sciences accredited African Human Rights Law Journal, as well as its own set of law reports, the African Human Rights Law Reports. Students in the Faculty publish the Pretoria Student Law Review, containing articles authored by them.

The Oliver R Tambo Law Library is one of the best-equipped libraries in the country, and uniquely houses the Law of Africa Collection, the most comprehensive collection of legislation and law reports of African countries under one roof. The Faculty is housed in the new Law Building, which has won three national and international awards for architecture.

Tuition Fees

R15000 - R18000 per year

The Program

The Faculty of Law at the University of Pretoria offers:

- A Master of Laws (LLM) program through coursework, in which twenty-one specialized Masters programs are offered. This program requires students to complete three taught modules, as well as a module in Research Methodology, to submit a research proposal and to submit a mini-dissertation. Class attendance is compulsory. Class meetings usually are from 17:30 - 19:30 and most of the class meetings take place once a week. The duration is one or two years.

- A Master of Laws (LLM) program through research, which is a choice of six different programs. Students on this program are required to write a dissertation under the auspices of a supervisor, after completion of a module in Research Methodology, the submission of a research proposal and an oral examination.

Entry Requirements

For the coursework program:

In addition to an LLB, BProc or equivalent qualification from a foreign university that allows the applicant entrance to the formal legal profession, the following requirement is set for admission of a prospective student to the LLM Coursework program:

A minimum average mark of 65% with respect to the prescribed final-year modules of the undergraduate program is required.
Where an average of below 65% has been achieved, the student may be admitted on recommendation of the relevant Head of Department after consultation with the programme coordinator and/or the course leader and consideration of other merits and/or an admission examination.

Foreign qualifications are subject to SAQA requirements, Even though a student may comply with the above requirements, the Dean may, on the recommendation of the Head of the Department presenting a specific degree or module, refuse to accept a prospective student for any LLM programme if such a student's performance in the chosen modules or field of study during undergraduate study was not satisfactory. Alternatively, the Dean could set additional requirements with a view to admission. An admission examination could also be required in respect of a particular module.

For the research program:

A candidate for the LLM research program should be in possession of at least an LLB or BProc degree or an equivalent degree from a foreign university that allows entrance to the formal legal profession.

Foreign qualifications are subject to SAQA evaluation.

A candidate will only be admitted to the LLM program if he/she complies with the standard of competence in applicable subjects as determined by the Head of Department, also taking into account the candidate’s academic record and any applicable experience.

A candidate will only be admitted to the LLM program if the Faculty can provide a suitable supervisor in light of the applicant’s preliminary research proposal.